Each year, the Greater Concord Chamber of Commerce presents its  Citizen of the Year Award to honor a member of our community who has shown exceptional leadership, performance in several areas of community service over many years, and for contributing to the general benefit of the community. The nominee does not have to be a member of the Greater Concord Chamber or the business community. Nominations are due on Monday, September 20.


The candidate:

• Participates in activities that make a difference in the community and our quality of life.

• Strives to improve and preserve the community.

• Models exceptional ethical qualities.

• Shows great citizenship and volunteer spirit that spans over several years.

The completed nomination must include:

1. Nomination form:

Print (Hit "print" and please write legibly) OR
Electronic (Do a "save as," type your answers in the PDF, and send it to us ) OR
Online (Send an online submission form through our website that allows you to save the form and come back to it later, as well as upload supporting documentation about the candidate).

2. Letter stating the candidate’s qualifications for the award, written by one of the nominators.

3. And any additional documentation to support nomination if necessary, e.g., information about awards received, press releases or news articles citing community involvement, candidate’s resume, etc.


• The Chamber will accept nominations by mail, fax, email or hand delivery to our office on 49 South Main Street, until close of business on until February 5, 2021.
• A committee will review nominations received by February 5 th .
• The award will be presented the evening of the Chamber’s 101st Anniversary and Citizen of the Year Award event to be announced at a later date.

No awards will be given posthumously. Nominations will be kept confidential.


Questions? Please contact Tim Sink at (603) 224-2508 or send him an email.

Learn about 2019 Citizen of the Year Award recipient Claudia Walker through articles like  Ray Duckler's feature in The Concord Monitor  and  The Concord Insider.  

Photos from the 100th Annual Meeting and Citizen of the Year Award event are posted on our Facebook page.

Past Citizen of the Year recipients include:

2020: Linda Lorden
2019: Claudia Walker
2018: David Ruedig
2017: Bill Chapman
2016: Teresa Rosenberger
2015: Harold Janeway
2014: Michael Green
2013: George Segal
2012: C. Thomas Brown
2011: Mark Ciborowski
2010: Ron Wilbur
2009: Tom Raffio
2008: Bob Larsen
2007: Peggy Senter
2006: Rev. David P. Jones
2005: Forrest McKerley
2004: Helen & George Hamilton
2003: Robert & Beverly Grappone
2002: Jane Berwick
2001: Irene F. Deschenes
2000: William J. Veroneau
1999: Richard W. Patten
1998: James W. Milliken
1997: Robert A. Hill
1996: Maria Manus Painchaud
1995: Cedric Dustin
1994: John Swope
1993: Thomas R. Rutherford
1992: Martin Gross
1991: John T. Grappone
1990: Mary Susan Leahy
1989: James H. Hayes
1988: Mark E. Manus
1987: Richard F. Upton
1986: Charles F. Foley
1985: Russell F. Martin
1984: Thomas M. Hardiman
1983: Douglas N. Everett
1982: Atty. Dudley W. Orr
1981: Edna C. McKenna
1980: Edson F. Eastman
1979: Malcom A. Spoor
1978: Robert O. Wilson, DDS
1977: Earle M. Reingold
1976: Malcolm McLane
1975: Joan M. Whittaker
1975: Sandra P. Jones
1974: Alger S. Bourn
1973: C. Edwin Howard, Elizabeth J. Donovan
1972: J. Richard Jackman
1971: Frederick P. Berman
1970: Norma Gardner
1969: Dr. Horace S. Blood
1968: Col. Albert S. Baker
1967: Phyllis A. Bowie, Roland E. Allen
1966: Dr. & Mrs. Homer Lawrence